Yoga is not a religion.It is a philosophy and a spiritual science.”

Jennie Lee, Author of “True Yoga”.

Yoga is not a work-out it is a work-in, and this is the point of spiritual practice to make us teachable to open up our hearts and focus our awareness so that we can know what we already know and be who we already are.” ~ Seattle Yoga News

The 8 Limbs/Paths of Yoga

Limb 1: Yamas – one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior

Ahimsā – not harming

Satya – honesty

Asteya – not stealing

Bramacharya – the wise use of energy

Aparigrahā – non-possessiveness

Limb 2: Niyamas – self-discipline and spiritual observances

Saucha – purity, cleanliness

Samtosa – contentment, gratitude

Tapas – discipline

Svādhyāya – self-reflection

Īsvara Pranidhāna – devotion

Limb 3: Āsana – postures practiced in yoga

Limb 4: Prānāyāma – breath control

Limb 5: Pratyāhāra – inward turning

Limb 6: Dhāranā – concentration

Limb 7: Dhyāna – Meditation or contemplation, is the uninterrupted flow of concentration.

Limb 8: Samādhi – liberation